Michigan releases depth chart as the offensive line questions are finally answered



Brady Hoke and the Michigan Wolverines finally have the roster and subsequent depth chart ready to go heading into opening weekend this Saturday against Central Michigan. Some positions were pretty clear as to who was going to emerge as the starter for instance everyone knew that Devon Gardner was going to get the nod at starting QB over Shane Morris and despite his season ending injury early last season (try the first game of the season) Blake Countess was going to get one of the starting CB spots.

However the Wolverines also had some very real questions on the offensive line like who exactly was going to fill some of those spots.

Well those inquiries have finally been addressed at least for the week.

Sophomore Jack Miller well get the start at center with Taylor Lewan starting at left tackle and Graham Glasgow taking the left guard spot after competing with Miller for center. On the right side highly touted redshirt freshman Kyle Kalis will get the nod at guard while Michael Schofield will take on the tackle spot.

Meanwhile Fitz Toussaint who displayed flashes of his 2011 season prior to a scary leg injury ended his season early in 2012 earned himself the starting running back sport while Drake Johnson and Justice Hayes are slated to serve as his backups. Freshmen De’Veon Smith and Derrick Green were listed at the bottom of the chart which was somewhat surprising for Green considering he did turn some heads during the practices leading up.

Nonetheless here is the full 2013 depth chart for the Wolverines (via the Detroit News):


WR – Jeremy Gallon, Joe Reynolds

LT – Taylor Lewan, Ben Braden

LG – Graham Glasgow, Chris Bryant

C – Jack Miller, Joey Burzynski

RG – Kyle Kalis, Joey Burzynski

RT – Michael Schofield, Erik Magnuson

TE – Devin Funchess, A.J. Williams

WR – Jehu Chesson OR Jeremy Jackson

SR – Drew Dileo, Dennis Norfleet

QB – Devin Gardner, Shane Morris

FB – Joe Kerridge, Sione Houma

RB – Fitz Toussaint, Drake Johnson


DE – Frank Clark, Mario Ojemudia

DT – Jibreel Black, Ryan Glasgow

NT – Quinton Washington, Ondre Pipkins

DE – Keith Heitzman, Matt Godin OR Chris Wormley

SLB – Cam Gordon OR Brennen Beyer

MLB – Desmond Morgan, Joe Bolden

WLB – James Ross, Royce Jenkins-Stone

LCB – Raymon Taylor, Delonte Hollowell OR Jourdan Lewis

SS – Thomas Gordon, Josh Furman

FS – Jarrod Wilson, Jeremy Clark

RCB – Blake Countess, Channing Stribling

NICKEL – Blake Countess, Dymonte Thomas


PK – Brendan Gibbons, Matt Wile

P – Matt Wile, Kenny Allen

LS – Jareth Glanda

H – Drew Dileo, Kenny Allen

KO – Matt Wile

PR – Dennis Norfleet, Drew Dileo

KR – Dennis Norfleet, Drew Dileo


DB Courtney Avery, LB Jake Ryan, TE Jordan Paskorz, FB Wyatt Shallman

[h/t: Detroit News]

About Adam Hernandez

Adam Hernandez is the founder of The Majors Sports Network and is currently the lead editor of The Majors Ann Arbor.

Recommended for you

You must be logged in to post a comment Login